MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD AT THE **COUNCIL OFFICES, STATION ROAD, WIGSTON ON TUESDAY, 31 OCTOBER 2017 COMMENCING AT 6.00 PM**

PRESENT

Councillor Mrs Samia Z Haq (Mayor)

Councillor David M Carter (Deputy Mayor)

COUNCILLORS

E R Barr L A Bentley G A Boulter

J W Boyce (Leader of the Council)

Mrs L M Broadley F S Broadley

M H Charlesworth (Deputy Leader of the Council) (Leader of the Opposition) **B** Dave

R F Eaton Mrs L Eaton JP D A Gamble J Kaufman Mrs L Kaufman Dr T K Khong K J Loydall JP

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

S J Ball (Senior Democratic Services Officer / Legal Officer)

Mrs A E Court (Interim Chief Executive) D Gill (Deputy Monitoring Officer)

65. **CALLING TO ORDER OF THE MEETING**

The meeting of the Council was called to order to receive Her Worship The Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

66. **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

An apology for absence was received from Councillors Miss A R Bond, Mrs K M Chalk, Miss M V Chamberlain, M L Darr, R E Fahey, Mrs H E Loydall, R E R Morris and Mrs S B Morris.

67. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

ALLOCATION OF VACANT SEATS ON COMMITTEES (POLITICAL BALANCE 68. **FOLLOWING BY-ELECTION)**

The Council gave consideration to the report and appendices (at pages 1 - 7) as delivered and summarised by the Senior Democratic Services Officer / Legal Officer which should be read together with these minutes as a composite document.

The Leader of the Council congratulated Councillor Mrs L Kaufman on her return to her

Councii	(EX	traordinary)
Tupeday	21	October 2017

Mayor's Initials ____

Tuesday	21	Octobor	2017
Tuesday,	21	October	ZU1/

seat following her successful election on 21 September as Member for the Oadby Uplands Ward and expressed his full confidence in her and her proven ability and experience.

It was moved by the Leader of the Council, seconded by Councillor G A Boulter and

UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED THAT:

- (i) The changes to the Council's proportionality arrangements (as set out at Appendix A of the report) be approved; and
- (ii) The following amendments and appointments to the memberships of those affected Committees and the Members to serve thereon (as set out at Appendix B of the report) be made, accordingly:
 - (a) Councillor Mrs L Kaufman be appointed to the Policy, Finance and Development Committee, the Development Control Committee and the Appeals Panel; and
 - (b) Councillor R F Eaton be appointed to the Service Delivery Committee.

THE MEETING CLOSED AT 6.05 PM

€				
Mayor				
Tuesday, 05 December 2017				

Printed and published by Democratic Services, Oadby and Wigston Borough Council Council Offices, Station Road, Wigston, Leicestershire, LE18 2DR